Endorsements

Progressive Maryland 2018 Endorsements 

This list is not finalized, this page will be updated upon new endorsement releases by Progressive Maryland in the following months

 

Governor

Ben Jealous {https://benjealous.com/

Ben Jealous is a civil rights leader, community organizer, investor in startups for good, educator, former investigative journalist and a Rhodes Scholar who has spent his life bringing people together to get big things done. He has been named Marylander of the Year by the Baltimore Sun because of the role he played in leading the effort to abolish the death penalty, helping assure the effort to pass marriage equality was successful, chairing the effort to pass the DREAM Act, and expand voting rights.

Lt. Governor

Susan Turnbull {https://benjealous.com/meet-susie/}

Susan Turnbull has been a community & civil rights activist, political organizer for over 40 years She has worked in a variety of governmental, non-profit, business and political positions. She has served as a member and chair of the Montgomery County Board of Appeals where she helped to navigate solutions to various land use issues. Susie has worked extensively to elevate the diversity of voices for women and young leaders in politics.

 

Congressional Races

US House of Representatives Maryland’s District 6th- Roger Manno {http://rogermanno.com/}

Senator Manno has been a progressive leader in Maryland since 2004. He is currently a State Senator in Annapolis. He is focused on issues like quality, affordable health care for everyone and strengthening the job market and leveling the playing field for all Marylanders. He fought to stop cuts to seniors' programs, women’s health, and workforce training.

Prince George's County

Prince George's County Council & Executive

County Executive- Donna Edwards {https://www.donnaforprincegeorges.org/}

Donna is a lifelong organizer and has called Prince George’s County home for 35 years. She was elected to Congress in 2008, the first African American woman to represent Maryland in Congress. She served five terms representing much of Prince George’s County. Donna led efforts through the Afterschool Suppers Program; supporting local nonprofits and businesses.  

At-Large- Gerron S. Levi {https://gerronlevi.com

Gerron Levi was a member of the Maryland House of Delegates from 2007-2011. She was a member of the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland and the Women Legislators of Maryland. Gerron spent 15 years in the labor movement, she also served as a legislative assistant for U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and helped craft important legislation on campaign finance reform and semi-automatic assault weapons.

District 1- Tom Dernoga {https://www.tomdernoga.com/}

Tom is a lifelong resident of Central Maryland, he has lived in Prince George’s County since he attended the University of Maryland in 1980. Tom represented District 1 on the Prince George’s County Council from January 2002 to December 2010. Tom’s Council colleagues elected him as Chair in 2006 and 2010. Since serving as a County Council Member, Tom has continued his civic leadership on numerous local non-profit boards and environmental groups.

District 2- Deni Taveras {https://votedenitaveras.com/}

Deni is running for re-election for County Council in District 2.  She has lived for ten years in Prince George’s County and believes the county deserves better public schools, safer, cleaner streets and sustainable economic development.  As a community leader, she has taught at a local juvenile detention center and served the future leaders of our state as an instructor at the University of Maryland, College Park.  

District 5- Jolene Ivey {http://joleneivey.com/}

In 2006, Ivey took on and defeated an incumbent legislator in the primary and became a delegate from District 47 in the Maryland House of Delegates. She was the House Chair of the Joint Committee on Children, Youth and Families, and also served as chair of the Prince George’s County House delegation.She is a co-founder of Mocha Moms, a support group for at-home mothers of color, and helped grow the organization to have a national presence. 

District 7- Krystal Oriadha {https://www.votekrystaloriadha.com/}

Krystal is running to help uplift the voice of our community, not to be just another elected official. She is focused on improving the education system, ensuring that economic development serves all, and uplifting the overall quality of life in PG County. Krystal believes that as a community, we must demand better from those elected to serve, and do better when asked to serve.  

District 9- Tamara Davis Brown {https://www.tamaradavisbrown.org/}

Tamara has advocated for, responsible, transparent growth and economic development, collaboration with Public Safety and clean and environmentally sustainable communities in District 9. Finally, as a woman and mother of a daughter, she is deeply concerned about the treatment of women and girls in our society. She believes in being the advocate for every woman and girl to feel validated and unapologetic in who they are and for equal treatment in all walks of life.

Prince George's County School Board

District 2- Rob Anthony {https://www.facebook.com/RobAnthonyDistrict2PGCPS}

District 3- Juwan Blocker 

District 9- Arun Puracken {http:http://www.puracken.com/

Montgomery County 

Montgomery County Council & Executive

County Executive- Marc Elrich {www.marcelrich.org}

Marc Elrich has been an at-large Montgomery County Councilmember since 2006. He chairs the Public Safety Committee, serves on the Education Committee, and is the County Council’s representative to the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments Transportation Planning Board. Prior to his election to the County Council, he served on the Takoma Park City Council for 19 years and taught at Rolling Terrace Elementary School for 17 years.

AT Large- Chris Wilhelm, Brandy Brooks, Danielle Meitive & Will Jawando

District 1- Ana Sol Gutierrez

District 3- Ben Shnider

District 4- Nancy Navarro

District 5- Tom Hucker

Frederick County 

Sheriff - Karl W. Bickel {https://www.frederickcountysheriff.com/}

Maryland State Legislative Races

Non Incumbent

Delegate District 19

Marlin Jenkins {https://marlinformaryland.com/}

Delegate District 25

Wala Blegay {http://walablegay.com/}

Delegate District 40

Melissa Wells {https://electmelissawells.com/}

State Senator District 47

Carlo Sanchez {http://www.carloformaryland.com/}

 

Incumbent

Delegate District 11

Dana Stein {http://danastein.com/}

Shelly Hettleman {http://www.shellyhettleman.com/}

Delegate District 12

Eric Ebersole {http://www.ericebersole.org/}      

Delegate District 13

Shane Pendergrass 

Delegate District 14

Pam Queen           

Eric Luedtke {http://www.ericluedtke.com/}  

Delegate District 15

David Fraser-Hidalgo {https://www.fraserfor15.org/}

Delegate District 16

Ariana Kelly {https://delegatearianakelly.com/}

Marc Korman {http://www.marckorman.com/}

Delegate District 18

Al Carr {http://www.alcarr.org/}                           

Delegate District 19

Marice Morales {http://www.maricemorales.com/}            

Bonnie Cullison {http://cullisonformaryland.com/}

Delegate District 20

Jheanelle Wilkins {https://jheanellewilkins.com/}                              

David Moon {https://davidmoon.us/}                      

Delegate District 21

Ben Barnes {https://benbarnesfordelegate.com/}                 

Delegate District 22

Alonzo Washington {http://alonzowashington.com/

Delegate District 24

Erek Barron {https://erekbarron.com/}                                       

Jazz Lewis {https://www.jazzlewis.com/}

Delegate District 46

Robbyn Lewis {http://www.robbynlewis.com/}                                      

Brooke Lierman {http://www.brookelierman.com/}         

Delegate District 47A

Jimmy Tarlau {http://jimmytarlau.net/}

State Senator District 46

Bill Ferguson {http://www.billforbaltimore.com/}