Progressive Maryland continues endorsements of state candidates

Progressive Maryland is evaluating candidates for federal, statewide and local government offices and making endorsements based on progressive, pro-people principles and records of progressive public activism and achievement, in office or as private citizens. With our two latest endorsements we have announced our backing for about fifty candidates for offices ranging from the US Congress to local county governments.

Progressive Maryland is evaluating candidates for federal, statewide and local government offices and making endorsements based on progressive, pro-people principles and records of progressive public activism and achievement, in office or as private citizens. With our two latest endorsements we have announced our backing for about fifty candidates for offices ranging from the US Congress to local county governments.

Most recently we endorsed for:

Frederick County Sheriff:

Karl W. Bickel

Bickel, with more than 40 years experience in law enforcement, says he has learned "The cop on the beat is not a warrior, an occupying force in an alien land, but a guardian protecting and serving a community, the community in which he or she is a trusted member, a trusted guardian of our democracy." (op-ed in Frederick News Post, December 2017

 

Baltimore County Executive

 Johnny Olszewski Jr.

Olszewski is a veteran legislator who represented Baltimore County for nine years, and focuses on education issues as a former teacher. "I'm proud of being a progressive on a lot of really important issues," he said, having been a consistent fighter for the paid sick leave bill that was finally passed last year.


These are the other candidates we have endorsed for this election cycle. Progressive Maryland members will bring their energy to supporting them both in the June 26 Primary Election and the November 6 General Election. You can join us in getting progressive candidates elected and moving beyond the business-as-usual routines of government in Maryland. The candidates were chosen after evaluating questionnaires and interviews. To read our full descriptions of the candidates and our reasons for endorsing them, follow this link.

 

Progressive Maryland 2018 Endorsements 

This list is not finalized; this page will be updated upon new endorsement releases by Progressive Maryland in the coming months

 

Governor

Ben Jealous {https://benjealous.com/

Lt. Governor

Susan Turnbull {https://benjealous.com/meet-susie/}

 

Congressional Races

US House of Representatives Maryland’s District 6th- Roger Manno {http://rogermanno.com/}

Prince George's County

Prince George's County Council & Executive

County Executive- Donna Edwards {https://www.donnaforprincegeorges.org/}

At-Large- Gerron S. Levi {https://gerronlevi.com

District 1- Tom Dernoga {https://www.tomdernoga.com/}

District 2- Deni Taveras {https://votedenitaveras.com/}

District 5- Jolene Ivey {http://joleneivey.com/}

District 7- Krystal Oriadha {https://www.votekrystaloriadha.com/}

District 9- Tamara Davis Brown {https://www.tamaradavisbrown.org/}

 

Prince George's County School Board

District 2- Rob Anthony {https://www.facebook.com/RobAnthonyDistrict2PGCPS}

District 3- Juwan Blocker 

District 9- Arun Puracken {http:http://www.puracken.com/

Montgomery County 

Montgomery County Council & Executive

County Executive- Marc Elrich {www.marcelrich.org}

AT Large- Chris Wilhelm, Brandy Brooks, Danielle Meitiv and Will Jawando

District 1- Ana Sol Gutierrez

District 3- Ben Shnider

District 4- Nancy Navarro

District 5- Tom Hucker

Maryland State Legislative Races

Non Incumbent

Delegate District 19

Marlin Jenkins {https://marlinformaryland.com/}

Delegate District 25

Wala Blegay {http://walablegay.com/}

Delegate District 40

Melissa Wells {https://electmelissawells.com/}

State Senator District 47

Carlo Sanchez {http://www.carloformaryland.com/}

 

Incumbent

Delegate District 11

Dana Stein {http://danastein.com/}

Shelly Hettleman {http://www.shellyhettleman.com/}

Delegate District 12

Eric Ebersole {http://www.ericebersole.org/}      

Delegate District 13

Shane Pendergrass http://msa.maryland.gov/msa/mdmanual/06hse/html/msa12290.html

Delegate District 14

Pam Queen http://msa.maryland.gov/msa/mdmanual/06hse/html/msa17181.html          

Eric Luedtke {http://www.ericluedtke.com/}  

Delegate District 15

David Fraser-Hidalgo {https://www.fraserfor15.org/}

Delegate District 16

Ariana Kelly {https://delegatearianakelly.com/}

Marc Korman {http://www.marckorman.com/}

Delegate District 18

Al Carr {http://www.alcarr.org/}                           

Delegate District 19

Marice Morales {http://www.maricemorales.com/}            

Bonnie Cullison {http://cullisonformaryland.com/}

Delegate District 20

Jheanelle Wilkins {https://jheanellewilkins.com/}                              

David Moon {https://davidmoon.us/}                      

Delegate District 21

Ben Barnes {https://benbarnesfordelegate.com/}                 

Delegate District 22

Alonzo Washington {http://alonzowashington.com/

Delegate District 24

Erek Barron {https://erekbarron.com/}                                       

Jazz Lewis {https://www.jazzlewis.com/}

Delegate District 46

Robbyn Lewis {http://www.robbynlewis.com/}                                      

Brooke Lierman {http://www.brookelierman.com/}         

Delegate District 47A

Jimmy Tarlau {http://jimmytarlau.net/}

State Senator District 46

Bill Ferguson {http://www.billforbaltimore.com/}