When February 23, 2016 at 11:00am 8 hrs
Contact Justin Vest [email protected]

Maryland is at a crossroads. Our state can either be a national leader on police reform or we can continue with the status quo–or worse. Training, mental health evaluation, adoption of community policing, and whistleblower protections are all important and addressed by the leadership reform package (HB1016). But some provisions of the bill actually give officers being investigated for misconduct even more power and control over those investigations than they already have. Without amendments, the leadership bill would actually create an accountability structure for brutality complaints that’s even worse than the current system. Instead, Maryland must take this historic opportunity to enact a system that achieves just outcomes.

On February 23, we will meet and RALLY at 11am at the Maryland statehouse to support police accountability! Following the rally, we will be attending the public hearing for the House Judiciary Committee at 1pm in room 100 of the House Office Building.

There are a huge number of bills being heard and ours may be pushed near the end in an attempt to reduce the number of supporters in the room or those able to testify. We fully expect opponents to be out in force to pack the room to argue against any changes. It is imperative that we have as many supporters as possible in attendance. 

*********NEED A RIDE TO ANNAPOLIS?*********

PRINCE GEORGE'S: A bus will leave at 10am from Grace Presbyterian Church (5924 Princess Garden Pkwy, Lanham, MD 20706) in Prince George's County and will return to the same location by 8pm from Annapolis. Please reserve your seat by contacting Meredith at [email protected]!

BALTIMORE: Campaign for Justice, Safety and Jobs will have a bus leaving from the Alameda shopping center at 10am. Email Liz at [email protected] to register for a seat.


Will you come?